Confessions of a Tall Hardy Mama

I used to have to pray to gain weight when I was a preteen. Even in my early twenties I was a mere waif of a woman ๐Ÿ™‚ This did not stem from excellent eating habits or healthy living. So what changed? My entire physical makeup changed post child. Here we go, I cannot blame my weight on my hormone levels, metabolism or my many stresses. I have tried to curb the weight countless ways over the years. The reality is that I am over weight because I love carbs and chocolate, enough said ๐Ÿ™‚

I know this is true because last May I met the authors of Trim Healthy Mama, Pearl and Serene, at a convention. Talk about two really sweet, encouraging women. It was their influence combined with my husband’s gentle prodding and me seeing my own reflection, in a big mirror, that helped me find the will power to lay off the processed carbs. I literally became a crazy person for the first several days as I went through total carb withdraw. ( This cold turkey approach is not recommended.) Then I started feeling better. I lost over 50 pounds in a period of 6 months unfortunately I found many of those pounds along the way so in reality I only lost 25 pounds.

So I did not follow the THM methods faithfully. I was not even regularly exercising but the pounds seemed to melt off when I heeded their advice.

Then we got this dog right around the holidays. I justified the extra pie and cookies by the fact I was walking the dog so much. My new theory has aided in me gaining 5 pounds.

How is it that I cannot stick to an eating plan that makes me feel so good? One factor is that when I am tired I leave all my good eating habits behind and revert to the quick and easy. When I have had a particularly hard night of caring for the baby I tend to make poor eating choices. For example I might eat six mini cupcakes instead of a carrot (just an example).

Is there a reasonable solution to this dilemma of lack of will power and the extra 20 pounds I could stand to lose? Maybe being honest with you, my readers (and hiding the chocolate chip cookies) will be a good start.

5 thoughts on “Confessions of a Tall Hardy Mama

  1. My secret to staying slim is to eat 3 healthy meals a day but NO snacks. Lately I have not taken my own advice (you’re right; chocolate is what a woman reaches for when she’s stressed) and have gained ten pounds since last winter . . . but at least I know the reason why. The pounds go away again when I stick to that simple plan. Eating less does not work, because a handful of snacks does not fill you up, and usually is packed with twice the calories. Skipping meals does not work, either, because then you get hungry and snack. I still think that eating 3 square meals is the key. Good meals are lower in calories, but you can eat more, and you don’t feel hungry because you can fill up. I’m talking good meals, though . . . not a lot of fat unless it’s good fat like milk, butter, and cheese. Chicken, fish, and vegetables, and even bread and potatoes and rice are fine . . . but eat more vegetables and fruit than meat and carbs.

    I don’t want to be overweight because I don’t want a bad heart, bad back, or overloaded joints as I get older. It doesn’t have anything to do with appearance, really. A little plumpness looks good on most people, I think. But weight can be a symptom of a deeper, more expensive health problem, so it’s worth losing.

  2. Thanks for your honesty, Becky. I struggle with this as well–the boys stress me out and I grab a bag of chips. I do find it helps me to start out with a high-protein breakfast. If I do that, I can get through to lunch without eating junk. Also, I’ve become a big fan of cheese sticks–the lower-fat kind. The protein seems to help fill me up–better than carbs, anyway. And, when I was doing the THM more faithfully, I’d pray for strength and self-control in the morning. Should probably be doing that again.

Leave a Reply

