The Little Dog that Saved My Life

It is Christmas morning and I have just returned home from walking our dog. I did not think I would need a key because my 7 year old, who was sleeping on the couch, would certainly let me in when I knocked. I soon learned otherwise as I knocked on the back door several times, called our home phone twice, went to our front door knocking and calling again. It was not until I knocked on our bedroom window that my husband came and rescued me from my miserable state. I had been standing outside for nearly 20 minutes. So is our little dog worth all this trouble?

I have had a handful of near death experiences in my life. I almost drown twice as a child in backyard pools. There was a time that I got so ill that I thought I was dying. There are other close calls I could name but this little dog did not rescue me from a river or a burning house. She has given me an excuse to live life more abundantly.

People laugh when I tell them that I used to be a tomboy. They see me now in my skirts and dresses and can’t imagine me climbing trees or throwing a spiral with a football. I even used to enjoy playing G.I. Joe more than Barbie.

Over the years it has just become easier to stay inside. My kids are safer from the ticks, mosquitoes, wild rabid foxes…..you’ve got the picture. I get annoyed with trying to prepare children to go out so they can complain about it being too hot or too cold and want to come back in. I feel like I have to be outside with my children or at least standing by a window watching them which does not allow me to get much else accomplished. Lame excuses, I know, but true none the less.

Then about one month ago Brooklyn, a three year old Shiba Inu mix, came into our lives. My oldest has wanted a dog for as long as I can remember. This dog needed a home where she could run and play. My husband warned me that I would get most of the responsibility of taking care of our new pet. Right as always šŸ™‚

First thing in the morning, when I get out of bed, I walk her. Around lunchtime my daughter plays with her in the backyard. Around dinnertime I walk her again. After our walks I run around with her in the backyard.

What a blessing it is to be enjoying God’s amazing creation more fully again: the beautiful sunrises and amazing birds and deer; the enjoyment that comes from watching her race around the yard, chase a ball or roll around in the grass.

I would say she is definitely worth it!

Leave a Reply

