Art Smarts

The following is the confession of a homeschooling mother of 5 children.   A few days ago I found a tourist guide to the Louvre (a famous art museum in France).  It was only $1 at our local library.  What an amazing educational opportunity! 

When I got the book home I went through it page by page with a permanent marker.  I personally censored the Louvre for my family.  There were even some pages that I felt would be a waste of marker to try to cover up all of the nakedness.  So I ripped those out and threw them in the garbage.

Why?  You may ask.  What is the big deal about “nude” figures in a work of art?  Don’t you think God made the human body beautiful?

I love art, especially artists such as Norman Rockwell and Claude Monet.  The brilliant colors used in some landscapes are thrilling.  The emotions evoked in some paintings of everyday life are amazing.

I feel that throwing in the nakedness of people ruins good art.  It cheapens it to the point of a girlie magazine.

I have been known to turn all the inappropriate magazines around in a checkout aisle.  If the back cover is worse than the front I will put another magazine in front of it.

It makes sense, to me, to teach children about the human body in a controlled, pure environment.  I am teaching my children that their bodies are a beautiful, special gift for their future spouses and no one else.

So if you think what I did to that book was an atrocity just don’t donate any art books to your local library or thrift store and they should be safe:-) Yes, I am narrow minded in many respects but at least I’ll admit it:-)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Art Smarts

  1. I don’t think you’re narrow-minded just because you disapprove of shame when it is substituted for art. One thought, though. My mother, a homeschooling mother of four, did the same thing with a marker and a set of Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedias. As a child, I wondered (never aloud) why it was okay for her to go through the books page by page, but it was not okay for me. Didn’t she have to focus on the worst places in order to ink them in? If I had children (yeah, I know that’s easy to say) I would teach them to look away at the grocery store, and I would have left the Louvre at the thrift shop.

  2. I can understand where you are coming from Jane. I am doing my best to expose my children to good art. Unfortunately, this usually makes museums a risky business. Art books are the best means I have found to do this. I don’t just turn the magazines around for my children but to be a blessing to someone behind me. Although it is not good for anyone to focus on nakedness, I feel a mother is the best person to filter such things. Our eyes do not affect us the same way a man’s do.

Leave a Reply

