The Not-So Smoothie

First I apologize to my faithful readers for not updating for a couple of weeks. I found myself occupied preparing for a in home product party which went very well.  The night after the party however I broke my foot and sprained my ankle.  How,  you say…..well that is for another post:-)

Today, I will take you back to an early morning after a restless night.  I don’t remember why I found myself wandering aimlessly around my home before 7 in the morning.  What I do recall is that I was trying to catch up on laundry (a common theme in this blog).  I was about to start a load when I realized that there was no more detergent.

This is when I must admit to something that seems to be an anomaly in the scheme of my regular life.  I have been making my own laundry detergent for the past 6 months.  A friend of mine taught my whole MOPS group how to do it.  The ingredients include Arm and Hammer Super Soap, Borax and Ivory Bar Soap.  I just grate up the bar soap and add equal parts of the Super Soap and the Borax.  I shake it all together and use about a TBSP per load of watch.  For exact measurements the recipe can be found online.

So in my state of slight consciousness I found a bar of soap (not Ivory but close enough).  I found my cheese grater and grated most of the soap into the mix.  I then started my load of wash.

As soon as I reached the top stair of my split-foyer home I heard the cry of my 12 month old.  I rescued him from the depths of despair.  He rode on my hip up the hall as I realized how hungry I had become.  That is where the smoothie enters in to the scenario.

I have been drinking my fill of protein smoothies in the past several months attempting to lose weight.  I poured my usual of milk and crushed ice into my blender cup.  Then I added a spoonful of peanut butter and a handful of spinach.  Don’t forget the half of a banana.  I had just bought a 5 lb. bag of protein and needed to transfer some of it into a 2 lb. container.  I spilled a decent amount of it on the counter in the process.  My counter is clean enough, I thought.  So I scooped some of the protein from the counter into my shake. It was a delicious combination!

It was not until a few minutes later that I got a strange after taste in my mouth.  I was sitting on our living room couch and must have made a face.  My husband inquired as to my welfare while standing across the room from me.

“I taste soap, Honey,” was my only reply. Then the course of events came flooding back to me.  I realized that some of the soap I had grated for my laundry detergent must have landed on the counter unnoticed before I had prepared my “not-so smoothy”.  I could only picture those old cartoons where someone swallows a bar of soap and has bubbles coming from his mouth every time he attempts to speak.

“Should I call poison control?  Will I be okay?” I pleaded with my husband.  Trying to hold back laughter, but not succeeding, Cesar assured me that I would survive my mishap.  And he was right, again:-)

One thought on “The Not-So Smoothie

  1. Sorry to hear about your ankle and foot –praying for you. And looking forward to the next episode! 🙂

Comments are closed.