Kitchen Mishaps

After completing high school and 4 years of college I still had very little experience in the kitchen. Even I warned Cesar of this before we were married, he was made painfully aware of this firsthand.

As a newlywed, I was enthusiastic about being the perfect housewife.  I was going to vacuum while wearing pearls and everything:-)  I soon found that such expectations were beyond my grasp.

I don’t know when the realization first hit.  There was the time I decided to make scrambled eggs ( one of my specialties now).  I was missing one ingredient, white milk.  Being the innovative person that I was I decided to use chocolate milk instead.  Needless to say,  the recipe hasn’t made it into Better Homes in Gardens magazine, just yet.

A great turning point came as I was dutifully making some grilled cheese sandwiches for my husband and I.  I had melted some butter in a pan and was heating them.  Somehow when it was time to turn the first one over I misjudged the trojectory and flipped it into a sink full of dirty dishes and soapy water.

It was then that my husband introduced me to a sandwich maker which has been the only tool I’ve used to make grilled cheese since:-)

Leave a Reply

