Early to Bed, Early to Rise…

I have a deep admiration for people that consistently go to bed before 11 pm at night and wake up at daybreak.  Honestly, I am not one of those people.  After putting all of the children to bed I find it hard to settle down myself.

I just want to take advantage of the blessed quietness that surrounds me.  Sometimes this means folding laundry, playing a computer game,  looking at my friends’ posts or blogging.  The key is by midnight I get the proverbial second wind and it’s almost impossible to go to sleep at this point.

Once my head finally meets my pillow my night has only just begun.  On any given night my baby might wake me 3 or more times.  My 6 year old may sleepwalk in need of the bathroom (which will only be successful with my intervention).  My 2 year old might have a nightmare or fall out of the bed.

My morning begins with the chirping of birds at dawn.  Actually, that would be when my husband kisses me goodbye and heads off to work and I turn over (hoping for a few more hours of rest).

I dream of one day getting a full night’s sleep and actually watching the sunrise.  Until then I want to cherish the moments and at least enjoy the sunsets.

2 thoughts on “Early to Bed, Early to Rise…

  1. Cherish the moments and enjoy the sunsets. That’s where I currently am, as the mother of two tiny ones. I heard once that these are the good old days–it is all just a matter of time. I enjoy reading your blog. Looking forward to the next update! : )

Leave a Reply

