The Personal Detailing on Our Mini Van

What do you get when you take a flustered mom parking a van full of children in the BJ’s parking lot right before her daughter’s first piano recital?  The answers may vary but if that mom is me and we’re speaking of last Tuesday the answer is a scrape 2 feet long and 1 foot high on the passenger side of your mini van.

I had just stopped for the brownies I had promised to bring to the recital.  The problem was that I had made several stops prior that day.  It was also the day before my daughter’s birthday and I had to shop for the party supplies.

Don’t worry!  I waited until after the recital to tell my husband about the mishap.  I didn’t want to ruin his  mood for his daughter’s first piano recital.  I made sure to remind him that no other vehicles were damaged in the process.  It was a battle between me and the cart return.  The cart return faired much better I must say.

This is not the first time I have done incidental damage to our van. There was the time I pulled forward out of our garage will the back hatch open.  It caught on our garage door opener and shattered the back window.  The whole hatch was damaged beyond repair.

The amazing thing is my husband has never threatened to take my keys away.  After the hatch incident he said, “I could have done the same thing.”  Precious words that ring with a tone of love and forgiveness. My husband is by no means the sentimental, sensitive type that so many women think they want.  He is a very masculine man who leads his family with a strong faith.  His forgiveness of my many well-intended foibles have been such a blessing over the years.

Believe me.  In the 10 years that we’ve been married he has come home to many a well intended idea gone wrong. Spray painting the shower, chocolate milk eggs, broken side view mirrors but we’ll save all of those escapades for another day:-)

2 thoughts on “The Personal Detailing on Our Mini Van

  1. You are such a wonderful and giving wife and mother who has a gret sense of humor as well! Your creativity and ideas are what make you so unique. Your husband loves you unconditionally and accepts you for who you are 🙂 I still miss your laughter and friendship and am enjoying reading your trials and journeys.

Leave a Reply

